WPL 2024: All You Need To Know – Schedules, Date, Venue

The Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024) second season will take place from February 23 to March 17. On Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said that Delhi and Bengaluru would host the women’s T20 cricket event.

The Mumbai Indians, the reigning champions, will take on the Delhi Capitals, the runners-up from the previous season, in the Bengaluru Open.

Women’s Premier League 2024 – Teams

  1. Mumbai Indians (MI)
  2. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  3. Gujarat Giants (GG)
  4. Delhi Capitals (DC)
  5. Up Warriorz (UPW)

WPL 2024: All you need to know

Delhi Capitals, last year’s finalists, will take on the defending champion Mumbai Indians in the opening match of the WPL 2024 in Bengaluru. Five teams are taking part in WPL 2024, the same as last year. The Gujarat Giants, Royal Challengers Bangalore, UP Warriorz, and Mumbai Indians will compete in addition to the Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians.

All games will take place at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium until March 4. The league’s final games will take place in Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium.

There will be 22 games taking place, including the semifinal and final. The team that tops the points table will directly enter the finals. The teams in second and third place on the table will play an eliminator game to determine their opponents.

There will only be one WPL match every day till the league stage is over; there won’t be any doubleheaders. Every match will get underway at 7:30 p.m. IST.

Shah said that a decision would be made after consulting the franchises. Maharashtra remains the most likely state to host the games, with three locations in Pune, one each in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai.

“This call is essentially being made jointly by the teams and the BCCI. We will convene and reach a resolution.

“The WPL will be much more successful this time around. The way that two Indian uncapped players made huge money shows how Indian players have been treated by teams. said Shah. The IPL 2024 will start in the final week of March and “get over in late May,” as per the news provided by the BCCI secretary.

The 2024 Women’s Premier League to take place in Bengaluru and New Delhi- Report

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 will take place in New Delhi and Bengaluru, as per BCCI.

  • Bengaluru: M Chinnaswamy Stadium
  • New Delhi: Arun Jaitley Stadium

The last WPL ran from March 4 to March 26, 2023. It was held at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai and DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

As per a report by IANS, the confirmation that these two cities will host WPL 2024 will be presented at this week’s Governing Committee meeting. “Yes, New Delhi and Bengaluru will host the WPL 2024 this year. The GC meeting will probably ratify this news.”

However, New Delhi has seen assurance that it will host the World Premier League this year. Being in different venues this year will be great for the WPL and women’s cricket in general, a source following the news told IANS.

While he did mention that one state might host the tournament. BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said in December 2023 that the competition could start in the “second or third week” of February following the end of the WPL 2024 Player Auction in Mumbai.

The WPL 2023 fixtures will take place in 11 games apiece. The Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium serve as host venues. Every squad will play each of the other four squads twice. The league stage table topper will go straight to the final. 

Teams that place second and third in the points table will play each other in an eliminator. This match will decide who will play the table topper in the final match.

More about the WPL 2024: Schedule and Auction

Five teams will compete in the WPL 2024. They are the current champion Mumbai Indians, the Delhi Capitals, UP Warriorz, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and the Gujarat Giants. The Mumbai Indians were headed by Harmanpreet Kaur. They beat the Delhi Capitals, captained by Meg Lanning, by seven wickets at the Brabourne Stadium to win the maiden WPL trophy.

Out of the 60 players that each of the five teams kept from the last season. 30 players were bought by the teams in total in the 2024 WPL Player Auction. Nine of them were international cricket players.

At the WPL 2024 player auction, uncapped Indian Kashvee Gautam, an all-round seam bowler. Vrinda Dinesh, a batsman, received huge salaries of INR 2 crore and INR 1.3 crore from the Gujarat Giants and UP Warriorz, respectively. With a salary of INR 2 crore from the Delhi Capitals, Australian all-rounder Annabel Sutherland was the most expensive foreign player at the auction.

WPL 2024 Schedule: Group Stage

Date MatchVenue
23rd February 2024  (Friday)Mumbai Indians vs Delhi CapitalsM Chinnaswamy Stadium
24th February 2024 (Saturday)Royal Challengers Bangalore vs UP WarriorzM Chinnaswamy Stadium
25th February 2024 (Sunday)  Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai IndiansM Chinnaswamy Stadium
26th February 2024 (Monday)  UP Warriorz vs Delhi CapitalsM Chinnaswamy Stadium
27th February 2024 (Tuesday)Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat GiantsM Chinnaswamy Stadium
28th February 2024 (Wednesday)  Mumbai Indians vs UP WarriorzM Chinnaswamy Stadium
29th February 2024 (Thursday)  Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi CapitalsM Chinnaswamy Stadium
01st March 2024 (Friday)UP Warriorz vs Gujarat GiantsM Chinnaswamy Stadium
02nd March 2024 (Saturday)Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai IndiansM Chinnaswamy Stadium
03rd March 2024  (Sunday)Gujarat Giants vs Delhi CapitalsM Chinnaswamy Stadium
04th March 2024 (Monday)UP Warriorz vs Royal Challengers BangaloreM Chinnaswamy Stadium
05th March 2024 (Tuesday)Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai IndiansArun Jaitley Stadium
06th March 2024 (Wednesday)Gujarat Giants vs Royal Challengers Bangalore          Arun Jaitley Stadium
07th March 2024 (Thursday)UP Warriorz vs Mumbai IndiansArun Jaitley Stadium
08th March 2024  (Friday)Delhi Capitals vs UP WarriorzArun Jaitley Stadium
09th March 2024 (Saturday)Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat GiantsArun Jaitley Stadium
10th March 2024 (Sunday)Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers BangaloreArun Jaitley Stadium
11th March 2024  (Monday)Gujarat Giants vs UP WarriorzArun Jaitley Stadium
12th March 2024  (Tuesday)Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers BangaloreArun Jaitley Stadium
13th March 2024 (Wednesday)Delhi Capitals vs Gujarat GiantsArun Jaitley Stadium

Eliminator Round & Finals- WPL 2024 Schedule

15th March 2024 (Friday)EliminatorArun Jaitley Stadium
17th March 2024 (Sunday)FinalArun Jaitley Stadium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20