Top 5 Teams That Have Won The Most Ranji Trophy Titles

The Board of Control for Cricket in India oversees the annual Ranji Trophy, a huge domestic first-class cricket event held in India. For sponsorship reasons, it is often known as the IDFC First Bank Ranji Trophy. 

The teams that participate are from state and regional cricket associations. The tournament was put forth by the BCCI in 1934 and has since been held in several stadiums across India.

Ranji Trophy: India’s oldest domestic cricket tournament

There are presently 38 teams in the league. They represent all 28 of India’s states as well as four of the 8 UT’s, each of which has at least one team. The league was originally called “The Cricket Championship of India”.

But it was changed in 1935 in honour of Ranjitsinhji. He is the first Indian player to represent his country in cricket. He was an England player from 1896 to 1902.

The Ranji Trophy is played by state and local teams that are owned and run by BCCI members and have first-class status. Railways and Services are pan-Indian. But most boards, like the Mumbai Cricket Association or the Karnataka State Cricket Association, are provincial.

Together with four of the 8 UT’s—Delhi, Chandigarh, Puducherry, and Jammu and Kashmir. It also includes the UT of Ladakh—all 28 states of India are represented. 

Along with this, two pan-Indian teams—Rails, which represents Indian Railways, and Services, which represent the Indian Armed Forces, along with four teams that represent regions within states. 

That includes Saurashtra and Baroda (both within Gujarat), and Mumbai and Vidarbha (both within Maharashtra). The Hyderabad cricket team represents the state of Telangana.

With a record 41 titles, the Mumbai cricket team is the most successful squad. As of right now, the Saurashtra cricket team is the current 2022–23 edition champion. In the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, it won against the Bengal cricket team.

Top 5 teams with the most Ranji Trophy Title Wins

Here are the top 5 teams with the most Ranji Trophy wins under their belt.

5. Madhya Pradesh- 5 

The fourth-most successful team in the Ranji Trophy is the Madhya Pradesh cricket team, historically known as the Holkar cricket team. They have taken part in 12 Ranji Trophy final games and have won five of them. They beat Baroda in the 1945–46 finals to win their first Ranji trophy final. Following that, MP went on to win in 1947–48, 1950–51, 1951–53, and 2021–22.

4. Baroda- 5

Playing their home games at Moti Bagh Stadium, the Baroda cricket team represents the Gujarati city of Vadodara. In Ranji Trophy history, they are a shared fourth-place winning squad. 1937 saw the entry of Baroda to the class. In 1942–43, they took home their first Ranji title. In 1945–47, 1949–50, 1957–58, and 2000–2001, Baroda have won Ranji titles.

3. Delhi- 7

Bengal and Delhi have each played in 15 Ranji Trophy finals. The national capital team, on the other hand, is the third most successful squad having won the title 7 times. 

Virender Sehwag, Ishant Sharma, Madan Lal, Mohinder Amarnath, Virat Kohli, and Shikhar Dhawan are a few of the Delhi cricketers who have gained success on the global front.  In 1978–79, Delhi won their first Ranji title. They had their most recent win in the 2007–08 season. They have won titles in 1978–79, 1979–80, 1981–82, 1985–86, 1988–89, 1991–92, 2007–08.

2. Karnataka- 8

Karnataka’s local red ball event has yielded many talented players for the nation. Among the outstanding players from the South Indian state who have played for the national squad are Roger Binny, Javagal Srinath Gundappa Viswanath, Anil Kumble, KL Rahul, Rahul Dravid, and Venkatesh Prasad. 

In the 14 Ranji Trophy finals that Karnataka has played in, they have won 8 times. Their last win came in 2014–15 and their title-winning seasons are 1973–74, 1977–78, 1982–83, 1995–96, 1997–98, 1998–99, 2013–14, 2014–15.

1. Mumbai- 41

Mumbai has played 47 league finals till date. This makes them the most dominant team in the Indian domestic circuit. Every season they produce a team full with great talent that does well in all situations. 

In the history of the Ranji Trophy, Mumbai has won 41 trophies, more than any other team. There are many famous Mumbai talents who have brought pride to their country. Some of them are Sachin Tendulkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Ravi Shastri, Vijay Merchant, Dilip Vengsarkar, Ajit Wadekar, Ajit Agarkar, and Rohit Sharma.

Mumbai’s last title win came in 2015-16. Their title winning season includes: 1934–35, 1935–36, 1941–42, 1944–45, 1948–49, 1951–52, 1953–54, 1955–56, 1956–57, 1958–59, 1959–60, 1960–61, 1961–62, 1962–63, 1963–64, 1964–65, 1965–66, 1966–67, 1967–68, 1968–69, 1969–70, 1970–71, 1971–72, 1972–73, 1974–75, 1975–76, 1976–77, 1980–81, 1983–84, 1984–85, 1993–94, 1994–95, 1996–97, 1999–00, 2002–03, 2003–04, 2006–07, 2008–09, 2009–10, 2012–13, 2015–16.

Top 5 Fastest Centuries in Ranji Trophy History

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20