The ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Facts You Need To Know

We are coming to the end of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 qualifiers and the main tournament is not far away. The 8th edition of the T20 World Cup will start on 22nd October with the finalists of the T20 WC 2021, Australia and New Zealand will play the first game at Sydney Cricket Ground.

Before the start of the T20 World Cup 2022, let’s see the must-known facts about the T20 World Cup. Also, all the information about the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

Facts/ Trivia about ICC T20 World Cup

All about T20 World Cup 2022

Starting Date

The T20 World Cup 2022 started on October 16 with the qualifiers. Four teams out of the eight teams will qualify for the next stage. The eight teams that participated in the qualifiers are West Indies, Sri Lanka, Namibia, UAE (United Arab Emirates), Scotland, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and the Netherlands.

The group stages of the tournament will start on October 22. The top 8 teams are England, New Zealand, India, South Africa, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

The final of the tournament will play on November 13 at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Broadcaster in India

The tournament will be telecast on Star Sports in India. All the matches will start in the morning in India. The match timings and broadcasters in other countries are different according to their region.

Must know facts about ICC T20 World Cup

8th edition of the tournament

This is the 8th edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. The tournament was inaugurated in 2007 for the first time in South Africa. Indian team won that world cup by beating the arch-rival Pakistan in the final.

No team has defended the title

Australia has a great chance of creating history by winning the T20 World Cup 2022 and defending their title.

Also, no host team has won the T20 World Cup ever. Australia won the last year’s T20 World Cup in UAE by beating New Zealand in the final.

This year, Australia is the host of the tournament.

Only one team has won the title twice

West Indies is the only team who won the T20 World Cup twice. Once in 2012 and another in 2016.

Players who played all 7 editions of the World Cup

R Sharma, C Gayle, Shakib ul Hasan, D Bravo, M Riyad, and M Rahim are the six players who played all the T20 World Cups.

Highest and lowest team total in the World T20

Sri Lanka has scored the highest total in the T20 WC. It was in 2007 against Kenya, where they made 260 for 6.

The Netherlands is the team who scored 39 runs, which is the lowest total of the T20 World Cup. It was against Sri Lanka in 2014.

Most runs by a batter in T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka’s M Jayawardene is the batter who scored the most runs in the T20 World Cup. The former Sri Lankan captain has scored 1016 runs in 31 innings.

Most run in a single edition

V Kohli scored 319 runs in the 2014 ICC T20 World Cup. It is the highest runs scored by a batter in a single edition. He was the beast in that tournament. Team India reached the final of the tournament. But lost to Sri Lanka in the final. V Kohli scored a valuable fifty in the final as well.

Most wickets in a single edition

W Hasaranga picked up 16 wickets in the 2021 T20 World Cup in UAE. He took those wickets in 8 games.

Most wickets in the ICC T20 World Cup

Shakib ul Hasan has picked up the most wickets in the T20 World Cup. He has picked up 41 wickets in 31 matches

Most dismissal by a wicket-keeper in the ICC T20 World Cup

Former India captain MS Dhoni has done 21 stumpings and took 11 catches (Overall 32 dismissals) in the ICC T20 World Cups.

These are a few facts about the ICC T20 World Cup. And also some information about the T20 World Cup 2022. Hope you liked the article.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest sports-related updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20