Team India Announced Squad For World Test Championship Final 2023

Team India announced the squad for the World Test Championship 2023 final, Ajinkya Rahane comes back

The Indian cricket team is ready to take on Australia in the World Test Championship 2023 final (WTC 2023 final) at The Oval, London on June 07. The clash between the two will be interesting to see as both the teams are two of the highest-ranked team in world cricket.

The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) has announced the squad for the WTC final 2023. Ajinkya Rahane made a strong comeback into the test team after his breakthrough performances in the IPL 2023 and in Ranji Trophy.

At one stage, Jinx was one of the trusted batters for Team India in tests outside of home. But his lean patch and bad performances consistently cost him a place in the team. But now, he has made a statement by performing well in domestic cricket, Also, his county stint experience will be vital for the team in the WTC 2023 final. Especially when Shreyas Iyer is injured, Ajinkya Rahane will likely be a No. 5 batter in the playing XI.

Also, he is doing well in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. He scored 209 runs at an average of 52.25 and an outstanding strike rate of 199.

KL Rahul kept his place

Despite a low run in international cricket, especially in test cricket for KL Rahul, he kept his place in the squad. Although captain Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill will most likely to be the two openers on June 07.

KS Bharat, the only wicket-keeper in the team

Wicketkeeper KS Bharat is the only option in the squad with Ishan Kishan being dropped from the squad.

India going with three spinners

Axar Patel, considered as a third spinner is also included in the squad despite Team India having two main spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja. That is because he is batting well in all formats. And he was one of the best batters in the recently concluded Bordar-Gavaskar Trophy.

Although, it is unlikely that he will be a part of the playing XI. Even if the conditions assist the spinners and Team India has to play with two spinners, it will be Ashwin and Jadeja.

Sure shot inclusions in the team

Other players in the team are Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara along with a pace battery of Shardul, Shami, Siraj, Umesh, and Unadkat.

Jasprit Bumrah and Shreyas Iyer’s respective injuries ruled them out from the WTC 2023 final, as we have already heard.

Team India’s Road to WTC Final 2023

Indian team has done well in the series’ they played in this WTC cycle. They were unbeatable in the home series and also played some good cricket in away fixtures.

At home, India hosted New Zealand (NZ), Sri Lanka (SL), and Australia (AUS) and won all three series. Against NZ, they won the two-match series by 1-0, SL by 2-0 (two-match series), and Australia by 2-1 (four-match series).

On away tours, they lost against South Africa by 2-1 (three-match series), drew England by 2-2 (five-match series), and won 2-0 against Bangladesh (two-match series).

When India played Australia at home, their position to play the WTC 2023 final was at stake. And they has to win that series and they did it convincingly. Australia only managed to beat India in one test and drew in the last test.

Now, both teams will again lock horns against each other in the World Test Championship final 2023 at the Oval.

Australia also announced their squad earlier

The Australian team also announced the squad for the WTC 2023 final a few days back. David Warner, the left-handed opener has kept his place in the 17-man strong squad to play against Team India.

Mitchell Marsh, Marcus Harris, and Josh Inglis have earned recalls in the test squad. Pat Cummins will lead the side again after he missed the last two tests in India.

Team India squad for the WTC 2023 final:-

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Australia team squad for the WTC 2023 final-

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

This is the same squad for the first Ashes test as well. This is because of the less gap between the WTC final and the first Ashes test. Cricket Australia will announce the squad for the remaining Ashes games later.

It will be interesting to see the battle between the two teams. Both are very good teams with a good balance in the squad It will be challenging for Team India against  Australia in England conditions as the Aussies have a lethal pace battery which includes Pat Cummins, Josh Hazelwood, and Mitchell Starc.

Team India also played in the last WTC final. But they lost to New Zealand in the final. Let’s see how Team India does this time around. We are hoping for a cracking contest. What do you think? Who will be the winner of the final India vs Australia?

Thank you for reading the article. We hope you liked it. Keep following us for the latest sports-related updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20