Sunrisers Hyderabad To Win The IPL 2023?

Sunrisers Hyderabad is one of the franchises in the Indian Premier League history to win the title in 2016. Before that as well, another Hyderabad-based franchise, Deccan Chargers won the IPL title in 2009 by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the final.

Today, we will talk about Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) only in this blog and see what are the strengths, weaknesses, playing XI, etc. So let’s start.

Sunrisers Hyderabad has won the only title in 2016 when they beat Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the IPL 2016 final. SRH batted first and the openers added 63 runs for the first wicket. The aggressor in the partnership was the skipper, D Warner.

Y Chahal broke the partnership by getting S Dhawan out on 28 off 25 balls. The Australian opener continued to play his shots despite wickets falling at the other end. He scored 69 off 38 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes.

Yuvraj Singh and Ben Cutting both played an important cameo. The former scored 38 off 23 and the later scored 39 off just 15 balls.

Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 208 in the first inning. C Jordon took 3 wickets but he went for runs as well.

When RCB came out to chase the target, they went off to a flier with V Kohli and C Gayle hitting the SRH bowlers all over the place. The latter was the main aggressor in the partnership. He scored 76 off just 38 balls with 4 fours and 8 sixes.

B Cutting broke the partnership of 114 runs for the first wicket. And then RCB lost the momentum in the run chase.

V Kohli gets to his half-century but no other batters played a match-winning inning to get RCB home in the final. Virat scored 54 off 35 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes. B Kumar bowled an outstanding spell and gave just 25 runs in his 4 overs.

RCB managed to score 200 runs on the board and fell 8 runs short of a target.

Now, Sunrisers Hyderabad will look to replicate these heroics in the IPL 2023 as well and wants to win the title for the 2nd time. And for that, they have a very good team this time around. Let’s see their squad first.

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad for the IPL 2023-

Abdul Samad, Umran Malik, Washington Sundar, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Kartik Tyagi, T Natarajan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Glenn Phillips, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Harry Brook, Mayank Agarwal, Heinrich Klaasen, Adil Rashid, Mayank Markande, Vivrant Sharma, Samarth Vyas, Sanvir Singh, Upendra Singh Yadav, Mayank Dagar, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Akeal Hosein, Anmolpreet Singh

Expected playing XI-

M Agarwal

R Tripathi

G Philips

H Brook

A Markram

A Samad

W Sundar

B Kumar

T Natarajan

U Malik

M Markande/ A Rashid

Strengths of Sunrisers Hyderabad

One of the major strengths of Sunrisers Hyderabad is their batting. They have some of the best T20 batters and hard hitters in the middle order as well.

M Agarwal and R Tripathi can play a big role at the top and then they have players like A Markram, G Philips, and H Brook who can hit the ball long.

Also, A Samad is one of the revelations in the last couple of IPL seasons and made his reputation of a big hitter. Sunrisers Hyderabad also has a backup option in H Klaasen in the squad also.

So they have a very good batting lineup and can fire in the IPL 2023.

Weakness of Sunrisers Hyderabad

The weakness of SRH is slightly in their bowling. They don’t have a spinner who is a genuine wicket-taker. Although they have W Sundar, M Markande, and A Rashid. But W Sundar is more of a containment bowler who can restrict the runs. M Markande hasn’t played much of an IPL for a while and A Rashid was not successful last time around when he played the IPL.

So they will have to look into this concern before the start of the IPL 2023.

Who will captain Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2023?

Aiden Markram is one of the strong contenders this time. SRH has released K Williamson from the squad.

A Markram has captained the side to a trophy in the SA20 currently with the same franchise. He was one of the highest run scorers in the tournament as well. He will be in contention for the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

So this is it for this blog. Will SRH win the IPL 2023 is the question to ask? They have the potential and they have done it before as well.

SRH will look to take inspiration from the Sunrisers Eastern Cape, their franchise in the SA20 which just won the inaugural cup.

What do you think in this regard? Will they hold the cup for the 2nd time in the IPL 2023? Comment your answer below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20