New Delhi And Bengaluru To Host WPL 2024

New Delhi and Bengaluru to host WPL 2024 and IPL 2024 Likely To Begin on March 22

The BCCI has shortlisted Bengaluru and Delhi to host the Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024). The BCCI has also scheduled the event’s second season for a while between February 22 and March 17.

The event will take place in two cities this season, Bengaluru and Delhi, unlike in 2023. The Mumbai Indians are the current WPL champions, having beaten the Delhi Capitals in the final game. 

As per a report by Dainik Jagran, the second season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL 2024) starts earlier in February. The Indian Premier League (IPL 2024) will start on March 22. 

Eleven days after India’s five-match Test series against England at home ended, the IPL 2024 gets underway. The fifth Test will end in Dharamshala on March 11. By then, the Ranji Trophy final, which took place from March 10–14, would have ended the senior domestic season for 2023–24. 

New Delhi and Bengaluru To Host WPL 2024 

The first leg of the WPL 2024 will take place in Bengaluru. While Delhi will host the second leg, which will include the knockout stages, as per ESPNcricinfo. The five-team league, which will consist of 22 matches, will take place in two cities. It is done so that the pitches at each may remain fresh for the 2024 Indian Premier League 2024.

The first WPL season was played in Mumbai and Navi Mumbai. BCCI secretary Jay Shah had earlier said the BCCI would look to stage the second season of the WPL also in one state to offset the logistical issues of playing the league across sites within a tight window.

The BCCI, however, says that using two locations is great. However, there will be matches at each location over ten days. With just one large stadium in each city—M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru and Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. So far neither the IPL nor the WPL has held matches at the same venue for more than two days.

Mumbai Indians are the current WPL champions. They beat Delhi Capitals in the inaugural season’s final game last year.

During the WPL 2024 player auction, an uncapped Indian duo of seam-bowling all-rounder Kashvee Gautam and batter Vrinda Dinesh got huge bids of INR 2 crore and INR 1.3 crore, respectively, from the Gujarat Giants and UP Warriorz. 

Annabel Sutherland, an Aussie all-rounder with a fast bowling average of INR 2 crore from the Delhi Capitals, was the most expensive foreign buy at the auction.

The cricket world was shocked to learn that West Indies star Deandra Dottin and Sri Lankan skipper Chamari Athapaththu were unsold in the WPL 2024 auctions. 

IPL 2024 Likely To Begin on March 22

The Indian Premier League (IPL 2024) season is just over two months away. So, the fans are getting more and more excited as they count down to mark their calendars. The IPL 2024 will kick start on March 22 as stated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Secretary Jay Shah during the auctions in December last year. 

But the calendar remains unclear. The Women’s Premier League (WPL) season schedule too is uncertain.

This year, unlike any previous, the dates of India’s next general elections will reveal the IPL 2024 schedule. The Election Commission of India will reveal the dates of the election schedule in the first or second week of February.

The schedule for the 2024 Indian Premier League will be out around the second or third week of February. The IPL Commission will make the dates public, once the election dates will come out on February 12.

The IPL governing body plans the games based on the resources given by the state bodies. So there will be major changes to the IPL calendar during the general election. IPL matches need big security, which means that the police force’s workload must be managed. 

In the past, many states have not given protection in elections. This led to the matches being postponed or moved to new cities.

Jay Shah is the secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). He wrote on X that the IPL auction garnered more viewers than the last auctions in 2022, with a total of 22.8 million.

MS Dhoni will lead the Chennai Super Kings, the five-time winners, as they attempt to retain their title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20