List Of Players To Retire From T20I After T20 World Cup 2024

Following an exciting 7-run victory over South Africa in the competition’s final, India was declared the T20 World Cup Champions on June 29. By doing this, India put an end to their 13-year ICC Trophy drought. After winning the first-ever T20 World Cup in 2007, this was India’s second victory at the T20 level.

The 2024 T20 World Cup has just been concluded. At the same time, the legendary careers of a number of cricket players reached their finish. 

We take a look at every player who will hang up their boots after the tournament. But the fans around the world saw their favourite players take T20I retirement.

1. Virat Kohli

Legendary batsman Virat Kohli announced his T20I retirement. It comes amid the excitement of India’s 2024 T20 World Cup victory, capping out his 125-match career on a fitting note.The cricket player received “Player of the Match” after making an impressive 76 from 59 balls in the decisive match. He also raised the prized T20 trophy for the first time in his international career.

Virat Kohli left the T20Is as the second-highest run scorer in the history of the competition with 4,188 runs under his belt.

2. Rohit Sharma

As the only side in the T20 World Cup 2024 to go undefeated, Rohit Sharma became the second Indian skipper to win the title. He too announced his T20I retirement. After the finals, during the press conference following the match, Rohit declared his retirement from the T20 format.

Against England in the 2007 T20 World Cup, Rohit Sharma made his T20 debut at the age of 20. Although he was unable to bat. Against South Africa in his second encounter, he made the most against Australia & England.

3. David Warner

David Warner, the opening Australian player, announced his T20I retirement earlier this year. The cricketer did not conclude his career in T20Is on a high note. That’s because the Australian team lost to Afghanistan and India in the Super Eights stage. He ended his career in ODIs with a victory in the 2023 World Cup. He also ended his Test career with a series victory over Pakistan in January.

Even so, in T20I, David Warner’s glorious career has 3,277 runs which account for his 19,000-run tally in international cricket.

4. Trent Boult

The quick and fiery kiwi pacer Trent Boult, played his last match of 61 T20Is, in a Group C match of the 2024 T20 World Cup against PNG in Trinidad. While ‘Black Caps’ bowed out to a humiliating first-round exit. The speedster scooped an impressive tournament haul of nine wickets from just four innings.

Trent Boult is the highest wicket-taker for New Zealand during the year 2021 runner-up campaign, with just 83 wickets in his register at an average of 21.43 now to his name.

5. Ravindra Jadeja

India’s premier all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja, bid adieu to his T20I career after having won the cup in 2024, which was a massive announcement on par with the fellow veterans, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

Jadeja made his T20I debut in February 2009 and had 74 games in this format. He scored 515 runs and took 54 wickets with his left-arm spin, hence he goes down as one of the finest all-rounders in the history of Indian cricketers in T20.

6. David Wiese

Namibia’s star all-rounder, David Wiese announced his T20I retirement after their final T20 World Cup 2024 Group Stage game against England. The South African-born cricketer from Namibia made his T20I debut in August 2013 against Sri Lanka and played for the South Africa side. Wiese made his debut for Namibia during the first round of the 2021 T20 World Cup.

7. Sybrand Engelbrecht

The Netherlands’ ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2024 campaign ended in defeat when Sybrand Engelbrecht played his final T20Il match against Sri Lanka. The 35-year-old middle-order batsman has declared his intention to step away from international cricket altogether. During the Nepal T20I Tri-Series 2024, he made his T20I debut in February 2024 against Nepal.

Despite being born in South Africa, Engelbrecht moved to the Netherlands in order to pursue his career outside the sport of cricket. But he was later selected to play for them after his new nation qualified for the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

8. Brian Masaba

Brian Masaba announced that he would be stepping down as captain of Uganda’s national cricket team after his side was eliminated at the group stage of the 2024 T20 World Cup. He also announced his T20I retirement. Taking part in Group C, Uganda registered their first win of the campaign by defeating Papua New Guinea by three wickets.

Under his tenure, Uganda qualified to make a maiden appearance at the T20 World Cup. Following which, Masaba announced his retirement during an event in the Ugandan capital Kampala.

Champions Trophy 2025: India May Not Travel To Pakistan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20