List Of Players In IPL 2024 Who Also Featured In IPL 2008

The Indian Premier League 17th season (IPL 2024) is scheduled to begin on Friday 29, 2024. Because of the recently concluded mini-auction in Dubai and IPL 2024 trade, the next edition has already seen a huge interest among the general public.

A few familiar faces from the IPL’s inaugural season are included in the lineup. They will also be playing in the IPL 2024. Let us check the cricket players who took part in the 2008 Indian Premier League and who will be returning in the 2024 edition.

1. MS Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings) 

MS Dhoni is an ever-present figure in the Indian Premier League. In the 2008 IPL, Dhoni made his debut with the Chennai Super Kings. After CSK went out of the IPL for two years, he later joined Rising Pune Super Giants. In the IPL 2024, he will lead CSK for the very final time.

2. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) 

In 2008, during India’s victory in the Under-19 World Cup in Malaysia, Virat Kohli was called up to the RCB team for the IPL. RCB’s Virat Kohli has played in every IPL season and has been a dependable player for his team in the league.

3. Rohit Sharma (Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians)

The 2009 IPL champion Rohit Sharma began his IPL career with the Deccan Chargers. A later move saw Rohit move to Mumbai Indians. Since then, he has been one of the key players in the MI dressing room since the 2011 IPL. The Mumbai Indians have won five IPL titles under Rohit’s lead. The MI squad in 2024 won’t see Rohit Sharma as their leader.

4. Ravichandran Ashwin (Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals) 

One of the IPL’s products is Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin. In the 2008 Indian Premier League, Ashwin was a member of the CSK. He will be playing for the Rajasthan Royals in the 2024 Indian Premier League. Aside from that, Ashwin has also played for the Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings.

5. Ravindra Jadeja (Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings)

After the 2008 IPL, Ravindra Jadeja was seen as the “rockstar” of Indian cricket. Under Virat Kohli, Jadeja was a member of the India Under 19 World Cup winning team. After spending the first three seasons as a player with the Rajasthan Royals, he joined the Chennai Super Kings. The seasons of 2016 and 2017 saw him play for the Gujrat Lions as well.

6. Shikhar Dhawan (Punjab Kings and Delhi Daredevils)

Shikhar Dhawan, the captain of the Punjab Kings, is another popular figure who was present at the start of the biggest league in the globe. In the 2008 Indian Premier League, Dhawan debuted for the Delhi Daredevils. Dhawan now serves as the captain for the Punjab Kings. He has played for the Delhi Capitals, Deccan Chargers, and SRH.

7. Piyush Chawla (Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab)

In the first Indian Premier League season, leg-spinner Piyush Chawla played for the Punjab Kings. Also, Piyush ranks among the IPL’s leading wicket-takers. The Mumbai Indians roster now includes Piyush Chawla. During his time in the IPL, he played for both KKR and CSK.

8. Amit Mishra (Lucknow Super Giants and Delhi Daredevils)

In the Indian Premier League, 41-year-old leg-spinner Amit Mishra is still going strong. Mishra will play for Lucknow again in the IPL 2024 after having a great IPL 2023 season with them. Mishra debuted for the Delhi Daredevils in the IPL. He now holds the fourth-highest wicket-taking record in IPL history.

9. Manish Pandey ( Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challengers Bangalore)

During the 2009 Indian Premier League, Manish Pandey was the first batter to reach the century mark for Indian batters. As KKR bid for Manish Pandey in the IPL 2024 auction, the player who played for RCB in the 2008 season got another chance to play in the IPL. In 2009, while Pandey was playing for the RCB, he became the first Indian player to score a century in the IPL against DC.

10. Ajinkya Rahane (Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings)

In the 2008 Indian Premier League, Ajinkya Rahane made his debut for the Mumbai Indians. He later joined the Rajasthan Royals and stayed with them for a long time. Ajinkya Rahane currently plays for the Chennai Super Kings. Thus far in the league, he has also played for DC and KKR.

11. Dinesh Karthik (Delhi Daredevils and Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Dinesh Karthik, the former Indian wicketkeeper, is still going strong in the Indian Premier League and is set to play for RCB for another season. 2008 saw Dinesh Karthik make his IPL debut with the Delhi Capitals (then known as the Daredevils). Kartik has played for many teams, including the Gujarat Lions, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, and Punjab Kings.

12. Ishant Sharma (Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Capitals)

In the 2008 Indian Premier League, Ishant Sharma, the right-arm pacer, played for the Kolkata Knight Riders under Sourav Ganguly. Ishant had a successful term with Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers, and KKR. He plays with the Delhi Capitals at the moment. Ishant Sharma has so far played in 101 games and took 83 wickets in the IPL.

13. Wriddhiman Saha (Kolkata Knight Riders and Gujarat Titans)

Wriddhiman Saha began his IPL career in the first season with Sourav Ganguly’s Kolkata Knight Riders. He is now a member of the Gujarat Titans. In the IPL, Saha is one of the most veteran wicket-keeper batters.

14. Rishi Dhawan (Punjab Kings)

Although he played for Punjab Kings (now Kings XI Punjab) in the 2008 IPL, India’s domestic talent Rishi Dhawan made his league debut later in the season. Dhawan has been a part of Punjab Kings, except for two seasons in the 2013 and 2017 IPLs. In 2013, he debuted in the IPL.

15. Swapnil Singh (Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Raebareli’s right-arm pacer was in the Mumbai Indians’ camp during the 2008 IPL, but he was not given the chance to play. Swapnil Singh is now a part of the RCB team for the IPL 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20