IPL 2023 Highest Earner: Rohit Sharma Surpasses MS Dhoni

IPL 2023 is just less than 4 months away and we have some news related to Rohit Sharma. Current India’s Test and ODI captain Rohit Sharma surpasses former Indian captain, MS Dhoni, in terms of IPL’s (Indian Premier League) highest earner in 2023.

The Indian captain becomes the highest earner in the IPL surpassing former Indian captain MS Dhoni in the IPL 2023. He got a 178.6 crore salary in IPL history surpassing MS Dhoni’s 176.84 crore.

MS Dhoni used to be the highest earner before the IPL 2023. But Rohit Sharma, with a contract of 16 crores in IPL 2023, becomes the highest earner in IPL history.

Rohit Sharma IPL Stats:-

In the 227 games, Rohit Sharma has scored 5879 runs with an average of 30.30 and a strike rate of 129.89. He has scored 40 fifties and a hundred with the highest score of 109 not out, which came against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in 2012.

Also, Rohit Sharma is in the top 5 in the highest run scorer in IPL history. He is at No. 4 on this list. The first on the list is Virat Kohli with 6624 runs.

MS Dhoni IPL Stats:-

In 234 games, MS Dhoni has scored 4978 runs with an average of 39.20 and a strike rate of 135.20. He has scored 24 fifties with the highest score of 84 not out against RCB in 2019.

Rohit Sharma started his IPL career with Deccan Chargers when the Hyderabad-based franchise bought him for Rs. 4.8 crore. In 2011, the five-time champions Mumbai Indians (MI) franchise bought him for Rs. 13 crore INR. Since then, he is with the franchise and played a huge role in the success of the franchise over the years.

MI is 5 times champions in Rohit Sharma’s captaincy

The Mumbai-based franchise has won five IPL titles under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. In 2013, when Ricky Ponting left the captaincy of Mumbai Indians midway through the tournament, Rohit Sharma was given the opportunity and he lived up to the expectations of the franchise.

MI won its first title in 2013 when they beat Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 23 runs. Mumbai Indians scored 148 in the first innings and restrict CSK to 125. K Pollard was the man of the match for his 60 off 32 balls.


Then in 2015, they again beat CSK by 41 runs. MI scored a mammoth 202 in the first inning. When CSK came out to chase, only D Smith was the big scorer in the inning with 57 off 48 balls. CSK was restricted to 161.


MI beat the new franchise Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) by just one run in a low-scoring encounter.


Again it was a close encounter with MI winning the game against CSK by one run. K Pollard again helped MI to put a decent total of 149 on the board. Shane Watson was the lone warrior in the 2nd inning for CSK. But he couldn’t able to cross the line as L Malinga defended 9 runs in the last over.


MI won their 5th title in 2020. Breaking the jinx of winning in the odd years. They beat Delhi Capitals in the final and become the most successful franchise in IPL history.

MI won all the trophies in the captaincy of Rohit Sharma

Now, again Rohit Sharma will look to repeat the heroics and want to win for the 6th time. MI had a very bad season last year in the IPL 2022. They finished last in the points table with only 4 wins in 14 games. They will look to redeem themselves in the IPL 2023.

In the end, the main thing is Rohit Sharma becomes the highest earner in IPL history. MS Dhoni’s first contract with CSK was Rs. 6 crore. His last contract last year was Rs. 12 crores in IPL 2022.

Let’s see how IPL 2023 panned out. Who will be the winner of the IPL 2023? Will it be MI or CSK? Or maybe someone else. Comment your opinion below.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20