India’s Women’s T20 Squad Announced for Asia Cup 2022

The Womens T20 Asia Cup is set to begin on October 01 with Bangladesh Women (BAN W). And Thailand Women (THA W) will play the first game of the tournament at Sylhet Outer Cricket Stadium, Sylhet.

For the Women’s T20 Asia Cup, the All India Women’s Selection Committee has announced the squad of Team India’s women. H Kaur will lead the side in the Women’s T20 Asia Cup 2022 in Bangladesh. S Mandhana will be her deputy.

Comeback for J Rodrigues

J Rodrigues, who was suffering from her wrist injury is on her way to gaining full fitness for the Women’s T20 Asia Cup.

Kiran Navgire has been called up for the first time in the T20I squad in England series. And will keep her place in the Womens T20 Asia Cup despite playing only one game. She played an outstanding inning of 69 off just 34 balls in the Women’s T20 challenge in May this year.

As a result of the Commonwealth games, H Deol and Y Bhatia remain on the sidelines, due to their poor performances.

The stand by players in the team is T. S. Bhatia, and Simran Dil Bahadur.

India women’s schedule in the Womens T20 Asia Cup 2022

Team India will start its Womens T20 Asia Cup 2022 campaign against Sri Lanka Women (SL W) on October 01. Then they will play against Malaysia Women (MAL W) on October 03, United Arab Emirates Women (UAE W) on October 04 and then will play the arch rival Pakistan Women (PAK W) on October 07.

Team India women will play their last two games of the first stage against the host Bangladesh Women (BAN W) and Thailand Women (THA W) on October 08 and 10 respectively.

The Womens T20 Asia Cup was first played in 2004 in Sri Lanka. Only two teams, India and Sri Lanka took part in the tournament where India women’s won all five matches in the tournament. Since then, the tournament is now been held 7 more times. This Womens T20 Asia Cup 2022 will be the 8th edition of the tournament.

India women’s won the first 6 titles of the tournament. Bangladesh women’s were able to win the first ever Womens T20 Asia Cup last time in 2018 by beating the six times champions India women’s by 3 wickets.

The first four Womens T20 Asia Cup were played in an ODI (One Day Internationals) format. A T20I format was first used for the Women’s T20 Asia Cup in 2012. India women’s won that tournament by beating the arch rival Pakistan women’s by 19 runs.

India’s women’s record in the finals of the Women’s T20 Asia Cup

2004 (Sri Lanka)

India won the tournament by beating Sri Lanka in a five-match series

2005-06 (Pakistan)

India won the Women’s T20 Asia Cup for the second time by beating Sri Lanka in the final by 97 runs.

2006 (Jaipur, India)

India won the final by beating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets.

2008 (Sri Lanka)

India won the title for the fourth time by beating the host Sri Lanka by 177 runs in the final.

2012 (China)

India won the final against Pakistan by 19 runs.

2016 (Thailand)

India again beat Pakistan by 17 runs in the final and won the title for the 6th consecutive time.

2018 (Malaysia)

Bangladesh women’s won the Womens T20 Asia Cup for the first time by beating India women’s by 3 wickets in the final.

So, India women’s has a very good record in the Women’s T20 Asia Cup. Now the tournament will now take place in Bangladesh. As a result of the COVID pandemic. It was moved up to 2021, and then to 2022.

Now finally the tournament will be played after 4 years and we are confident that India women’s will do well this time as well.

The tournament final will held on October 15. All the matches will take place at Sylhet Outer Cricket Stadium, Sylhet.

Team India women’s squad for the Womens T20 Asia Cup 2022-

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, K.P. Navgire

Standby players– Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia, Simran Dil Bahadur

What do you think about India’s women in the Womens T20 Asia Cup 2022? Will they be able to win the tournament for the 7th time? Comment your answer below.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest sports-related updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20