Indian domestic season announced by BCCI for 2022-23

Indias Domestic Season 2022-23- The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the schedule for the new Indias domestic season for 2022-2023.

Duleep Trophy

A new season will start with the old first-class competition Duleep Trophy coming back after a gap of more than 2 years. The Duleep Trophy will commence on September 08. And the final will be played on September 25. A contest will be played between six zones (North, South, East, West, Northeast, and Central).

Till now, there are 58 tournaments completed with West Zone being the inaugural champions of the Duleep Trophy in 1961-62. The tournament has not been conducted since 2019-20 due to COVID. The last time when the tournament was played, India Red was the champion beating India Green by an inning and 38 runs.

West Zone and North Zone are the most successful teams, winning the titles 18 times each in 33 and 26 appearances each respectively.

All the matches of the tournament are knockouts (Quarterfinals, semi-finals, Finals).

Irani Cup ( Indias Domestic season )

We will also see a return of a multi-day tournament Irani Cup. The match was played between the current Ranji Trophy champions and the rest of India on a multi-day basis.

Right now, Vidarbha is the current champion of the Irani Cup. They won the Ranji Trophy last season and then went on to win the Irani Cup as well.

Bombay was the inaugural champion in 1959-60.

Due to the COVID pandemic, Irani Cup didn’t happen in the last couple of years.

White ball tournaments

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (T20 Tournament) and Vijay Hazare Trophy (One Day Tournament), the two white-ball tournaments will happen as usual.

The T20 tournament will start in October and one-day tournament will start in mid-November. 38 teams will split into three groups of 8 teams and two groups comprising 7 teams.

The last Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy champions are Tamil Nadu beating Karnataka in the final of the 2021-22 final. Inaugurated in 2006-07 with Tamil Nadu becoming the first champions by beating Punjab in the final.

Vijay Hazare Trophy (Indias Domestic season)

 Coming to Vijay Hazare Trophy, Himachal Pradesh is the current champion beating Tamil Nadu in the 2021-22 final. The tournament started in 1993-94 in a one-day format.

Inaugurated in 1934-35, Bombay won the first title by beating the runners-up Northern India. Since then, Mumbai won the most titles (41) in the multi day’s tournament.

Currently, Madhya Pradesh is the champion of the Ranji Trophy. They beat Mumbai in the Ranji Trophy 2021-22 finals.

How Ranji Trophy team groups categorized?

There will be two categories in Ranji Trophy groups- Elite and Plate. The elite group will comprise 32 teams and will have 4 groups of 8 teams in a home and away format with each team playing 7 matches in the league stage. The top two teams from each of the four groups will directly qualify for the quarter-finals.

The Plate Group will include six teams and fifteen league games. The top four teams will advance directly to the semifinals, while the bottom two teams will compete for fifth and sixth place. League games for both the Elite Group and Plate Group will begin on December 13th, with the Elite Group’s season ending on February 20th and the Plate League’s on January 29th.

Women’s domestic cricket ( Indias Domestic season )

BCCI also pays attention to women’s cricket in India. Considering women’s teams have a multi nations tournaments in the next couple of years, they announced the schedule for women’s domestic cricket as well.

the women’s calendar begins with the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy starting on October 11 and concluding on 5th November. It will then be followed by the Senior Women’s Interzonal T20 and T20 Challenger. The 50-over format will then take over with Senior Women’s one-day Trophy and the inter-zonal one-day. 

The schedule has been decided after considering ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is scheduled to take place in  2023. It will give women players enough game time and exposure before the WC.

Also, the Board will hold a U-16 girls’ tournament for the first time in one day. The competition will give the ladies early exposure to competitive cricket and facilitate their transfer to the U-19 level.

The first-ever ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup will be held in South Africa in January, hence the dates for the women’s U19 T20 Trophy and women’s U19 T20 Challenger have been moved up to 1 October through 7 November.

Overall, there will be more than 1500+ games held across Indias domestic season. Let’s see who shines in those games and hopefully, we will get new talents coming in across the country.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest sports-related updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20