ICC Makes Stop Clock Rule Permanent in ODIs, T20Is

In an attempt to curb time-wasting strategies in white-ball cricket, the ICC declared the stop clock rule on Friday. This rule mandates that teams begin a new over within 60 seconds of the previous one to avoid penalty runs. This rule will come into effect permanently, starting with this year’s T20 World Cup

The ICC stated after its board meetings this week in Dubai that the stop clock speeds up over rates. It will be a permanent element in men’s ODIs and T20Is between Full Members as of June 1.

This rule will now apply to all ICC whiteball games. The rule comes into effect during the ICC’s current set of meetings in Dubai.

Stop Clock Rule in ODIs & T20Is: All you need to know

This stop clock rule has already been under testing in international cricket since December of last year. It stipulates that the fielding side must start an over within sixty seconds after the end of the preceding one. If they do not comply, the umpires will give them two warnings. If they still do not comply, the third offence and anyone that follows will result in a five-run penalty.

One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and all other white-ball cricket matches will be subject to this rule. It will mandate the display of an electronic clock between overs. Its main goal is to make sure the matches get complete on time.

In a statement outlining the rationale for making the rule permanent, the ICC noted, “The stop clock rule trial results were brought into the Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) notice. It shows that we were able to save around 20 minutes per ODI match.” The five-run penalty for exceeding the one-minute mark between overs three times in an innings. It has not yet been applied because no side was seen to have done so during the trial session. 

The umpires are in charge of upholding this regulation, with the third umpire initiating the timer. For a third offence or any subsequent infraction, the fielding side will get two warnings from the on-field umpires before a five-run penalty is applied. 

The umpires have the final say over whether to employ the timer. They can also determine whether delays are the result of hitters, DRS calls, or other unanticipated events.

Starting in December 2023, the ICC conducted an initial trial of the stop clock rule. Although the trial period will expire in April. The ICC and its cricket committee are thought to have determined that there is good reason to extend the rule in the interim. 

How To Watch T20 World Cup 2024?

Penalties for Stop Clock Rule Violation

The fielding teams will get a penalty instantly if they fail to abide by the new stop clock 60-second overchange rule. The ICC has set the following penalties that the fielding team may have to pay if they break the rule. 

  • The fielding side will have to bring an extra fielder into the 30-yard circle for the number of overs left in the innings if they are unable to start the final over of the innings by the cut-off time, accounting for delays. 
  • As a result, during the penalty, the fielding side will only have four fielders outside the circle as opposed to five. Introduced in the beginning of 2022, this rule applies to limited-overs games for both men and women. 
  • The monetary penalty will come into effect after the umpires account for unavoidable delays. It consists of a 5% reduction in the team’s match fee for each over in which they fall short of the minimum needed over rate. 
  • The captain’s fine is double that of his teammates, with a maximum fine of 50% of the match fee.

Reserve Day for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

The board meeting also decided to reserve days for the 2024 T20 World Cup semifinals and final, which will be held in the USA and the West Indies in June, in case there are any delays or weather interruptions. 

The board additionally said that at least five overs must be bowled to the chasing team for a group stage and Super Eights match to have a full game. In a knockout match, that number rises to ten overs. 

Like the next edition, there will be 20 countries competing in the Men’s T20 World Cup of 2026. Of those teams, 12 will automatically qualify. That includes the two hosts, India and Sri Lanka, as well as the other teams that move to the Super Eights of the 2024 T20 World Cup. 

The next highest-ranked teams in the ICC T20I rankings on June 30, 2024, will determine two to four teams. The number of teams in 2024 will be less than four; if India or Sri Lanka do not finish in the top eight. Standard regional qualifying process will determine the final eight berths for 2026. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20