Cricket World Cup 2023 – Top 5 Highest Wicket-Takers

ICC Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 featured the top 10 cricketing nations in the world vying for supreme titles. November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, Gujarat marked the conclusion of the Cricket World Cup 2023. It got underway on October 5.

ICC ODI World Cup 2023 hosts India played against the five-time champions Australia in the final of the showpiece event on Sunday.

Five-time World Cup winners Australia have now won their record sixth ODI World Cup trophy. They beat the hosts and favourites India to secure their sixth ICC World Cup 2023 trophy. 

India vs Australia Cricket World Cup 2023 final: As It Happened

Following India’s defeat by Australia in the World Cup final on Sunday, millions of people there are still grieving. Seven overs remained and Australia, who have now won the World Cup six times, won by six wickets.

The squads advanced to the final by defeating South Africa in the semifinals and New Zealand in the final. The game was held in Gujarat, a state in western India, at the biggest stadium in the world.

The surface turned out to be slow, and with the aggressive fielding and tight bowling available, Cummins’ decision to field after winning the toss was a brilliant move that made India struggle for every run.

After shocking Australia for 47 for 3, Team India attempted to mount a comeback, but Head and Marnus Labuschagne worked hard to forge a match-winning 192-run combination that ultimately proved to be the difference.

Australia won its sixth ODI World Cup, but India, who was by far the best team in the competition and was playing in their own home, will see today as a massive wasted opportunity.

Cricket World Cup Bowling Records: A Review

The highest wicket-takers in the Cricket World Cup 2023 will be the subject of intense attention.

Fifteen bowlers hold the distinction of being the highest wicket-takers in the 12 editions of the Cricket World Cup that have been held thus far. Several players have shared the honor in three different editions.

While Geoff Allott of New Zealand and Shane Warne of Australia each took 20 wickets in 1999, Zaheer Khan of India and Shahid Afridi of Pakistan shared the place in 2011 with 21 wickets apiece. In the 2015 edition, Australia’s Trent Boult and Mitchell Starc each claimed 22 wickets.

Gary Gilmour of Australia was among the highest wicket-takers in the first Cricket World Cup in 1975.

At two different Cricket World Cups, just one bowler—Starc—has taken the most wickets. Mitchell Starc, who took 27 wickets from 10 games in 2019, became the only player on top after splitting the trophy with Trent Boult in 2015.

The most wickets a bowler has taken in a single ODI World Cup edition is 27, which was claimed by Mitchell Starc in 2019.

It’s interesting to note that seven of the top wicket-takers in the 12 ODI Cricket World Cups to date have been from the winning teams: Roger Binny of India in 1983, Craig McDermott of Australia in 1987, Wasim Akram of Pakistan in 1992, Shane Warne in 1999, Glenn McGrath in 2007, Zaheer Khan in 2011, and Starc of 2015.

“In cricket, bowlers win tournaments, batsmen win games,” is well reflected in this statistic. Mohammed Shami of India has taken the most wickets in the Cricket World Cup 2023, with 24 from seven matches.

Top 5 highest wicket-takers in the Cricket World Cup 2023

With a wicket against Australia in the final on Sunday, Mohammed Shami is now the 2023 Cricket World Cup’s leading wicket-taker. 

Shami bowled the best figures for an Indian in an ODI, going seven for 57. With 23 wickets in 11 games, Adam Zampa is ranked second on the list, followed by Dilshan Madushanka, who has 21 wickets in nine games.

The top 5 highest wicket-takers in the Cricket World Cup 2023.

Mohammed Shami (IND)7245.2610.707/57
Adam Zampa (AUS)11235.3622.394/8
Dilshan Madushanka (SL)9216.7025.005/80
Jasprit Bumrah (IND)11204.0618.654/39
Gerald Coetzee (RSA)8206.2619.804/44

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20