Cricket squad for Indian women’s tour of England announced

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Team India Senior Women’s squad for the tour of England on Friday. The 17-member Indian Womens Cricket Team was selected by the All India Women’s Selection Committee.

The team will play three ODIs. And three T20Is in England from September 10. The Indian Women’s Cricket team will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur. The opening batter Smriti Mandhana will be the vice-captain.

The Indian womens Cricket team recently won the silver medal at the Commonwealth games. Thus, the team would be riding high in confidence.

The hosts England suffered a shock exit in the semifinals. They were beaten by a resilient New Zealand side. Thus, they couldn’t finish at the podium. Now, they would be looking to bounce back after that semifinal nightmare.

Indian Womens Cricket Team Tour to England Schedule

All six games will be played at six different venues. The Indian Womens Cricket team will play their 1st T20I match against England. The match will take place at Riverside, Durham on September 10 at 7 PM IST. The second T20I takes place on September 13 at 6:30 PM. The match will take place at the Incora county ground in Derby.

The 3rd and final T20I will take place at Bristol County Cricket Ground at 6:30 PM IST. The teams will then move to play the ODI series. 

The first ODI takes place at the 1st Central County Ground, Hove on September 18 at 11 AM IST. The second ODI takes place at Canterbury on September 21 at 1 PM IST. The third and final match takes place at the historical Lord’s stadium in London at 11 AM IST.

Jemimah Rodrigues Injury and Inclusion

Jemimah Rodrigues last played for India in the Commonwealth Games final. For the Northern Superchargers, she played two matches. Against the Oval Invincibles, she scored a half-century.

But, the Mumbai batter had to pull out of ‘The Hundred’ on Friday. Due to a wrist injury. The extent of the injury is unknown. But she finds a place in both the ODI. And T20 squads. Team India will be hoping she regains her full fitness before the 1st T20I.

Jhulan Goswami makes a Final Comeback

Veteran pace bowler Jhulan Goswami is the most notable inclusion. Jhulan will play her last ODI series for India. She has announced her retirement after the 3rd ODI against England at Lords. She also missed the Sri Lanka series after the World cup, due to an injury.

The West Bengal pacer had a stellar career with the Indian Women’s Cricket Team. Her career has spanned over 20 years. The Indian Women’s Team would be looking to give her a proper farewell with a win in the final ODI. She last played for India against Bangladesh in the ODI World cup in New Zealand.

The BCCI has conveyed to Jhulan Goswami about creating a young pace attack for the future. Jhulan has already made up her mind about retirement. She has an offer from the Bengal women’s team for the role of mentor. The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) has confirmed that Jhulan has accepted the offer.

Indian Women’s Team for England Tour

Both Indian Womens Cricket teams for ODIs. And T20Is were declared on Friday. More notable names find their place in the squad. Wicket-keeper Richa Ghosh makes her comeback to the Indian Women’s Team. She will again wear the blue jersey for the T20I side. 

The Nagaland batter KP Navgire gets her maiden call up to the Indian Womens Cricket team. She recently made headlines in the national women’s cricket arena. Navgire set the national record for an unbeaten 162 against Arunachal Pradesh in the senior T20 trophy.

Navgire played a swashbuckling inning in the Women’s T20 Challenge as well. During her time with Velocity, she smashed 69 runs off 34 balls against the Trailblazers. The batting combination consists of Navgire, Shefali Verma, and Richa Ghosh. They will bring a new dimension to India’s attacking mindset in T20Is.

Meanwhile, Yastika Bhatia makes her way into the Indian Women’s Team ODI setup. The wicket-keeper batsman had an amazing run of form in the women’s T20 challenge.

Indian Women’s Cricket Team for T20Is: 

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice Captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Radha Yadav, Meghna Singh, S Meghana, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Simran Dil Bahadur, Dayalan Hemalatha, KP Navgire, Richa Ghosh (WK).

Indian Women’s Cricket Team for ODIs: 

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice Captain), Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, S Meghana, Yastika Bhatia (WK), Taniya Bhatia (WK), Sneh Rana, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh Thakur, Harleen Deol, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Simran Dil Bahadur, Dayalan Hemalatha, Jemimah Rodrigues. And Jhulan Goswami.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20