CPL now has Shahrukh Khan’s women’s cricket team

Womens Cricket CPL- West Indies (WI) cricket board is set to launch its first-ever women’s cricket CPL (Caribbean Premier League) tournament starting in August along with Men’s tournament.

First-ever Women’s cricket CPL

This is the first time that WI starting its own league for women’s cricketers. Over the last few years, the cricket-playing nations all around the world started to give priority to womens cricket as well.

This was not the case if we go back to the recent past. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) also started the league for women’s cricket and has been running the tournament over the last few years.

The tournament features three franchise teams competing for a trophy. The team names are Velocity, Trailblazers, and Supernovas.

The concept is the same as the Indian Premier League (IPL) with most of the players being Indian along with some of the overseas stars featuring in all the teams.

Cricket Australia (CA), which runs cricket in Australia also has been conducting the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) for quite a few years now.

WBBL has 8 teams in total, which makes them bigger in terms of team participation.

All the other cricket playing nations also started to give priority to women’s cricket.

BCCI is planning to launch a domestic tournament for womens cricket in India. All these things conclude that womens cricket has been given a fair chance to showcase their tournament.

The revenue is not big as compared to men’s cricket. But it is a great step for womens cricket going forward in the future.

CWI launches womens cricket CPL

Now, Womens Cricket CPL is now set to be played in August. The three teams fighting for one trophy in the first-ever tournament.

The three teams in the tournament are Barbados Royals, Trinbago Knight Riders, and Guyana Amazon Warriors. Womens cricket CPL will start on August 30. The final will be played on September 30.

Till now, the schedule hasn’t been declared by CWI. But we will update you whenever the schedule of womens cricket CPL comes.

Shah Rukh Khan’s franchise Knight Riders women cricket team

In this league, Shahrukh Khan. A Bollywood star in India, his franchise Knight Riders is set to field its first-ever womens cricket team. And named Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR).

The franchise already has a men’s team in the men’s CPL also named Trinbago Knight Riders.

The tournament started in 2013. Till now, the franchise has won four titles in the tournament in 2015, 2017, 2018, and 2020. It makes them the most successful franchise in CPL.

Shahrukh Khan’s franchise also has also a team in one of the biggest cricket leagues in the world Indian Premier League (IPL).

The franchise also has a team in IPL

The name of the team is Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) which is also one of the most successful franchises in the league, winning the title two times in 2012 and 2014 under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, a former Indian cricketer.

They also came close to winning the title in 2021, having played the final even after a very bad performance in the first leg of the tournament. But they lost the final against Chennai Super Kings  (CSK) who won its fourth title.

But it was seen as one of the greatest comebacks in the history of the IPL.

The Knight Riders franchise also bought a team in South Africa’s cricket league which didn’t happen due to some financial issues.

The franchise has its roots in league cricket all over the world. And has been doing very well in league cricket.

The three teams womens cricket CPL will have three overseas players on each team. It makes the team a 14-member squad.

Shahrukh Khan tweets about this news. He tweeted – “This is such a happy moment for all of us at @KKRiders @ADKRiders and of course the lovely set of people at @TKRiders. Hope I can make it there to see this live game!!”.

Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) squad:

D Dottin (c), A Mohammed, Lee Ann Kirby, S Hector, S Soogrim, J Glasgow, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight, N McLean, S Grimmond, C Isaac

The squad will be of 14 members. And they will announce the overseas players in the coming few weeks.

This is a very good step by CWI to start womens cricket CPL. It will give opportunities to womens cricketers in West Indies and all around the world.

It will give womens cricketers a very good exposure. And hopefully, many more opportunities will come for womens cricket in the upcoming years. And other countries will start their own league for womens cricket.

Womens cricket is as important as men’s cricket. It will inspire a new generation of girls to play the sport all around the world. And the game will be more popularised.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest updates related to sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20