Best Possible CSK Playing XI | IPL 2024

The defending champions Chennai Super Kings were exceedingly busy at the Dubai IPL 2024 auction. At the event, they signed some intriguing players and made some notable selections. In the IPL auction on December 19, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) added six players. They reinforced their team going into the 17th season by doing this and adding replacements.

Here is a team review of the players bought by the 5 time IPL champions Chennai Super Kings and also their best possible CSK playing XI leading up to the IPL 2024.

CSK IPL 2024 Squad Review Ahead of IPL 2024

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) assembled a strong roster of 25 players, including 8 international players, through the auction as part of a calculated squad overhaul for the forthcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season. 

Expected to command a premium, Rachin Ravindra was bought by CSK for just Rs 1.8 crore. For the squad, the major signings of Daryl Mitchell (Rs 14 crore) and rising prospect Sameer Rizvi (Rs 8.4 crore) as well as the purchase of Shardul Thakur for 4 crores were crucial.  Deepak Chahar may come into the bat at number ten.

They have a backup for MS Dhoni in Avanish Rao Aravelly and have added Mustafizur Rahman as a replacement for Mathessha Pathirana.

For what may be their final IPL season, MS Dhoni will captain the Chennai Super Kings. Following the IPL 2023 final, the captain of CSK underwent knee surgery. This gave him time to heal before the upcoming season, which could be his final one. 

Probable Chennai Super Kings ( CSK ) Strongest Playing XI for IPL 2024

➤ Ruturaj Gaikwad & Devon Conway: Openers

Gaikwad and Conway will make the CSK playing XI and will lead CSK’s batting order. Since the IPL 2021, Gaikwad has consistently scored runs for the team. In IPL 2022, he scored 590 runs with four fifty-plus scores.

Conway and Gaikwad have shown to be a dangerous opening duo at the top of the order when together. Conway finished the previous season as the second-highest run-scorer with 672 runs.

➤ Ajinkya Rahane: Number 3

With CSK the previous season, Rahane was a revelation. He redesigned his T20 game and contributed to the team in a few crucial games during the previous season. CSK managed to bring out the best in him. The Indian batsman was no longer able to secure a spot in the Indian Test team.

➤ Moeen Ali / Daryl Mitchell: Number 4

Either Moeen Ali or Mitchell can bat at number four in the CSK playing XI. The opposition, the squad composition, and the playing conditions will all influence the choice. CSK signed Mitchell for a contract worth 14 crores.

➤ Shivam Dube: Number 5

Shivam Dube, the power hitter, will be positioned at number five. Last season, the southpaw also gave it his all for CSK, amassing 418 runs in 16 games, three of which were fifty-plus runs that struck at least 150. 

➤ Ravindra Jadeja

Sixth place in the CSK playing XI will go to Ravindra Jadeja. He is an experienced player in the IPL who scored the winning runs for CSK in the previous season. He is a bankable player who has does well for the team both at bat and with the ball. 

➤ MS Dhoni (C/WK)

Dhoni will start at number seven. Throughout the previous season, he also had brief appearances with the bat. But it was his leadership that drew the interest of others, and this season it will again. 

➤ Shardul Thakur

At number eight, Shardul Thakur will bat. CSK added him for 4 crores. He was unable to perform at his peak for either KKR or the Delhi Capitals. He has played four seasons and 55 wickets for CSK. Thakur also contributed a few significant cameos for CSK at bat.

➤ Deepak Chahar

Chahar will lead the CSK bowling attack while batting at number nine. In addition to missing out on the World Cup, he has not played much for India in international cricket since the conclusion of the most recent IPL season.

➤ Maheesh Theekshana

Theekshana is going to be a specialist spinner. He is regarded as a powerplay bowler and has frequently led the assault for CSK. Last season, the SL spinner did not feature in the wicket total.

➤ Matheesha Pathirana

Along with Chahar, Pathirama will spearhead the assault. Despite having taken 20 wickets for CSK in the previous season, he has not participated in many international matches this year. In case Pathirana requires a backup, CSK has Mustafizur Rahman.


1. Who is the captain of CSK in the IPL 2024?

Ans: It will be intriguing to watch the Chennai Super Kings lineup for the 2024 Indian Premier League because they appear to be a very powerful team so far. Veteran Mahendra Singh Dhoni will lead CSK, and head coach Stephen Fleming will coach the team.

2. Who is the new player in CSK for IPL 2024?

Ans: Chennai Super Kings picked up 6 players at the IPL 2024 auction on December 19, 2023. Name of the players are Shardul Thakur, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, and Avanish Rao Aravelly.

3. Does Daryl Mitchell play for CSK in IPL 2024?

Ans: In the IPL 2024 auction, Daryl Mitchell was the target of a bidding war; the Chennai Super Kings ultimately acquired him for INR 14 crore. Therefore, Daryl Mitchell will now play for CSK in IPL 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20