A future tour program for Indian cricket has been announced

The ICC (International Cricket Council) has announced the Future Tour Programme (FTP) from 2023-2027. ICC has announced the Indian Cricket FTP recently.

“I’d like to thank our Members for the effort that has gone into creating this FTP for the next four years. We are incredibly lucky to have three vibrant formats of the game, with an outstanding program of ICC global events and strong bilateral and domestic cricket, and this FTP is designed to allow all cricket to flourish”- Wasim Khan said while ICC announced the FTP 2023-2027.

Today, we are talking about the fixtures in the Indian Cricket FTP.

The Indian cricket FTP includes a total of 777 international matches. To break down these matches into formats- there will be a total of 173 Tests, 281 ODIs, and 323 T20Is. As usual, T20 cricket has been given priority.

People love to see T20 cricket and it is evident in the FTP of 2023-2027. Also, there is a rise in the international matches in the 2023-2027 FTP. The 12 members nations will play 83 more matches as compared to the last FTP (Future Tour Programme).

Indian Cricket FTP (Future Tour Programme)

Team India will play 44 Tests, 63 ODIs, and 76 T20Is in this FTP. The team will start its 2023-2027 FTP with a tour of West Indies (WI). They will play two Tests, three ODIs, and three T20Is in July 2022.

World Test Championship (WTC) fixtures from 2023-2027

From 2023 to 2027, there will have two WTC cycles (2023-2025 and 2025-2027).

WTC 2023-2025 (FTP)

Team India will play three home series against Bangladesh (BAN), England (ENG), and New Zealand (NZ) in the 2023-25 WTC cycle. They will play Australia (AUS), South Africa (SA), and West Indies (WI) in the away series in the same WTC cycle.

WTC 2025-2027 (FTP)

Team India will host Australia (AUS), South Africa (SA), and West Indies (WI) at home in the 2025-2027 WTC cycle.

As far as the away series is concerned, India will play England (ENG), New Zealand (NZ), and Sri Lanka (SL) in a 2025-2027 WTC cycle.

Team India is scheduled to play South Africa, England, and Bangladesh away in 2021-2023 WTC cycle. Also, they will play Australia, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand at home in the same WTC cycle.

India-Australia will have five tests from now on

The series between India and Australia (Border-Gavaskar Trophy) will see a rise in a test matches. Now, they will play a five-match series instead of four-match series. We have seen so many close encounters and the tussle between the two big teams.

Considering the previous games between the two teams, they will now play five test series.

No bilateral series again between India and Pakistan

India will not play any bilateral series against Pakistan due to the relations between the two countries. There is only a diplomatic relationship between the two countries.

India last played a bilateral series against the arch-rival Pakistan in 2013 at home. Since then, the two teams only played against each other in ICC tournaments.

They will continue to play in ICC tournaments. Team India is even set to play Pakistan in Asia Cup 2022. It is likely that both teams will face each other two or three times in a tournament.

India will also play Pakistan in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Australia.

India, Australia, and England play the most tests

As expected, the big three in world cricket (India, Australia, and England) will play the most test matches as compared to the other cricket-playing nations. England will play the most test matches (22) followed by Australia (21) and India (20).

ICC tournaments in 2023-2027 FTP cycle

There will be four major ICC tournaments held between the 2023-2027 FTP cycle apart from the two WTCs (World Test Championship).

India will host the 50 over World Cup in 2023 followed by the T20 World Cup in 2024. West Indies and the USA will host the 2024 T20 World Cup (WC).

We will see the return of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025 which will be hosted by Pakistan. It will be interesting to see if Pakistan would be able to host the tournament because some of the players in the different teams would not prefer to go to Pakistan. Also, it will be interesting to see if the Indian cricket team goes to Pakistan to play in the tournament. It all depends on the situation at that moment.

Pakistan is the current champion of the tournament. They beat India in the finals when the tournament was held last time in England in 2017.

After Champions Trophy, India and Sri Lanka will host the ICC T20 World Cup in 2026. South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Namibia jointly will host the 50 over World Cup in 2027.

India will play South Africa, England and Australia

Team India will play South Africa and tour for a full-fledged series in December 2023. After that, they will host England for a five-match test series. India will play Australia away from home from November 2024 to January 2025.

They will again play England in June 2025. In 2027, India will again play Australia and England in 2027 at home.

Limited over series between 2023-2027 FTP cycle

In this four-year period, India will play limited over series against Australia, England, West Indies, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka.

All n all, India, England, and Australia will play the most against each other in that four-year FTP cycle.

India will also play Afghanistan

Team India is set to play a one-off test against Afghanistan and also a three-match ODI series in this period. The 4 matches will be played in India in mid-2026.

Thank you for reading the article. Keep following us for the latest sports-related updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cricket Betting Sites
100% Sports Welcome Bonus
100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000
5% Sports Cashback
Sign up and get ₹ 777 free Credit
Welcome Bonus Available with minimum deposit R$20